Project 4.4 The Egg.

Excercise 4.4 The Egg

weston_pepper_425[1]

Edward Westons Pepper 45 (1).

I liked Edward Westons photo of Pepper he used a funnel to create a simple backdrop to the vegetable. (1).

Its easy to agree totally with Weston when he says “The camera sees more than the eye, so why not make use of it?” – Edward Weston. (2).

I looked forward to this exercise as light is the point of our chosen medium.So playing around with light is always good fun. I chose an egg as it has a very simple form and they are quite hard to light and then capture. The brief was to capture the form of the thing.

The egg was placed on a brass plumbing fitting against a black back drop. I used my dive torch for the light source as I wanted total quick control of where the light would come from. The Egg and fitting piece of black velvet as this would absorb excess light so keeping the workload simple.

The camera was set on a tripod, level with the subject and took some light readings with the camera. I did this to get some idea of what I would need to do to get the shots. I wanted lots of depth of field so set the camera at f22. And shot at between one third of a second and half a second.

I used the histogram from the earlier exercise this helped me expose correctly I got the five shots I wanted in 15 exposures far quicker than previously.

Here is my contact sheet of the full 15 shots.

The Egg

 The Five Shots.

All the chosen shots are high quality captures showing shape, form and texture. I believe they meet the criteria fully. It is amazing when you see the detail you can capture with correct lighting.

References
(1) A-Z Quotes. (2016). TOP 25 QUOTES BY EDWARD WESTON (of 68) | A-Z Quotes. [online] Available at: http://www.azquotes.com/author/15533-Edward_Weston [Accessed 12 Jul. 2016].

(2) Sothebys.com. (2016). [online] Available at: http://www.sothebys.com/content/dam/stb/lots/N09/N09129/054N09129_5VYNS.jpg [Accessed 12 Jul. 2016].

Leave a comment