Reflection on Assignment 2 Rock and Ice.

This is the link to the book I created so you can see the work discussed below. I hope you enjoy it. Rock And Ice

Hi Michael,
As this is the second part of the project I will give you less formal feedback. The book is a real treat. You have done well to put it together and I am so glad you have responded to changes we discussed, I do think they really work. Your reflection is useful and I can see by the quality of the images presented you have used a variety of techniques to get the desired outcome.

The book narrative with the text works very well and as you yourself discovered telling the audience was not required, the images speak loudly. The text font is suitable although it is quite large. Often when creating a book it is good to take advice from a graphic artist as this is more their area of expertise. The book is so lovely it was a shame to see that you wrote in ball point pen on the front cover!!! You should have your name printed on this publication somewhere. This is such a celebration of your access to this amazing area you could look at finding a publisher or getting the book in a place like The Photographers Gallery in London.

Your review of the exhibition and book is useful. As well as looking at the techniques used consider the motivation of the artist, the messages that are protrayed. For example the image of the skeleton on the swaztika, reflect on why this image was memorable and what the message was not just how it was constructed. There are a number of theory books indicated in the study guide, start exploring these.

It was good to see the contact sheet and to see why you made some of the choices you did.

May 2016-7

The Scale only has meaning When a manmade object is visible.

Reflection

1. I used a large font as my father has macular degeneration and I wanted him to be able to read it. However I take the point made and have bought a book on graphic art. It is interesting to try some of the things suggested to create impact. I hope an assignment warrants a book in later work. A reader of my book said   “That using capitals was like being shouted at”. This pleased me as I wanted to shout “ANTARCTICA IS MELTING!” From the rooftops.                                                                       2. The changes I made seemed to have worked. Never forget the power of an image. If you have to explain it it’s not working.                                                                                            3. Don’t write in the cover of books! EVER!!! I have covered this abomination with a label.                                                                                                                                                             4. I have made a visit to the Photographers Gallery in London I am considering sending the book to be assessed further.                                                                                         5. I read Robert L. Solso, book “cognition in art.”(1) there is a passage about four men going to Europe. I am definitely the one who sees the people and their clothes. I need to become the man who sees the doors, window and all to get more contextual photographs.

Context is an area I need to develop. I am so enthusiastic about seeing the image I forget to about why. In diving I use “Stop, Plan, Act”. When things go wrong. In art I am going to use “Stop, Think , See”. This will make me slow down and think about all the pictures information.

image

Lee Miller in Hitler’s Bath 1945.(2).

I have been to several exhibitions of both photos and paintings not to see the art. Just to consider the context of the work. I went to the “Lee Miller”(3)  exhibition at the Imperial War Museum.

I approached one photo using “Stop, Think, See”.

At first glance the photo shows a lady having a bath. The boots at the side of the bath grab interest. Plus why is there a photo of Hitler? The context is, Lee Miller has been on the road for weeks at the end of WW2. She is joyful at having a bath. In Hitlers bath in his house in Munich. Add this context and the pictures power magnifies a thousand times. The perceived most evil man in modern history has been in this bath. How defeated is he when an American woman….a  model……in GIs uniform is in his bath. In another context this could be a victory.

I feel I have developed not in technique but in thinking after this second assignment. Now is the time for me to slow down a little and look properly to capture the context and juxtapositions all around.

References.                                                                                                                                              (1). Solso, R. (1994). Cognition and the visual arts. P120. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press.
(2). Time Magazine, (1945). Lee Miller in Adolf Hitlers bathtub Munich 1945.. [Print from website.] Available at: http://time.com/3502547/lee-miller-the-woman-in-hitlers-bathtub-munich-1945/.                                                                                                      (3). Museum, I (2016). The life of Lee Miller. [Various] London: Imperial War Museum.

Leave a Reply

