Project 1.3 (1) Line.

Take a number of shots using lines to create a sense of depth. Shooting with a wide-angle lens (Zooming out) strengthens a diagonal line by giving it more length within the frame. The effect is dramatically accentuated if you choose a viewpoint close to the line.

For these shots I made a firm decision to only take my 40mm Prime Lens so I only had one option for the photos. I wanted to think about the line in the scene not altering my camera.

June1191

Northbank Road ancient field boundary.

For this shot I placed my camera on a tripod to help me get the composition I wanted and hold it. The lens was set at F2.8 on Aperture priority. I wanted as much detail as possible so I used an ISO of 100. The camera set a shutter speed of a quarter of a second. My composition used the raised field boundary and its shadow to draw the eye to the telegraph pole in the distance. I positioned the sky using the rule of thirds.

June1192

Northbank Road towards Eldwick

This shot follows the fence towards Eldwick its progress is interrupted by two trees but continues on into the scene. I liked it as the first response is Oh! it’s stopped then you see the countryside over 4 miles away and the sky. I also like the contrast between the yellow harvested field on the left and the lush green field on the right. The lens used was the same as the first shot. I also used aperture priority again. I used F2.8 and the camera set a shutter speed of 1/250th of a second.

June1190

The Mossy Branch

I wanted to try a different shot  for this so I looked along the length of a branch in the wood. I liked the way it draws you into the wood scene. It is very serpentile in the way it twists and bends into the shot. The light on the day was intense but not too strong in fact the conditions were difficult to work with. The camera settings on this were AV again ISO 100 aperture F11 so as to get sharpness along the length of the branch. I think the shot captures the lush colour of the wood  and its damp conditions. You can almost smell the damp earth!!!

June1194

The Coppice Path

June1195

The Coppice Path looking down.

These two shots are of the same scene. However I pointed the camera on the tripod down so the Gate disappears from view. It is amazing how this changes the shot and the way your eye looks at it and your brain processes it. The full scene makes your eye almost walk along the path to the gate and you wonder what is on the other side. The second shot leads you up the path to nowhere and your  eye and brain just feel that’s it nowhere else to go. The first shot encourages you to look into the scene again to see more. Plus if I ask for Ten observations from the first shot I bet most viewers would be able to give at least Six. After looking at the second shot I bet most people would give three it just doesn’t invite exploration.

My understanding of this exercise was good. I knew what I was looking for when I set out. I had the right kit the light was good and I had a plan. Everything went to plan the only thing I changed was the shot of the branch I saw this and liked it and I was looking for a different way to show my understanding so was pleased to see this.

When I look at this set of shots as a collection they are very Green. They show the area where two little girls intrigued the world with there world of fairies.

Leave a Reply

